Author Image

Welcome to the OFFICIAL 'About The Author' page of:

J. Kent Messum

J. Kent Messum is an Award-Winning Author & speaker who always bets on the underdog. His 1st novel BAIT was released in 2013 by Penguin Books UK, Canada, and US, along with other publishers in Greece, Brazil, Czech Republic, and Bulgaria. His 2nd novel HUSK is due summer 2015!

AUTHOR: J. Kent Messum

Author Book

HUSK

BOOK TITLE:
HUSK
ISBN:
9781405914277
DATE PUBLISHED:
30/07/2015
Average Book Review Rating: No ratings yet.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

J. Kent Messum was born in Toronto in 1979, the product of a merger between a Cockney Lad and a Geordie Lass that resulted in a typical Aries, who came out of the delivery room with a chip on his shoulder and an overactive imagination.

During his early years his mother read fantastical stories to him every night, and his father frequently invented tales of witches and ghosts that both intrigued and terrified him. He was a frightened child growing up, convinced of a boogeyman in every closet and a monster under most beds. His stories are rooted in that same childhood fear, now evolved and molded by a mix of life experiences and a good deal of thinking outside the box.

Jamie graduated from York University’s Fine Arts Program and has worked as a session musician, freelance writer, producer, internet radio station disc jockey, bartender, office gopher, music teacher, movie grip, laborer, contractor, and a few other things he’d rather not admit. A glutton for punishment, Jamie has been involved heavily in both the music business and film business for well over a decade. He writes incessantly, putting on paper as many stories and ideas as his time will allow. The literary business is a welcome change, since he writes as if his life depended on it anyway.

Jamie’s debut novel, Bait, a dark psychological thriller about a group of strangers who find themselves stranded on a deserted island, was published in the US and Canada August 27 2013, and by Penguin UK September 13 2013. Publishing rights have also been acquired in Brazil, Czech Republic, Greece, and Bulgaria. His follow up novel, Husk, a serial killer thriller, will be published by Penguin UK on July 30 2015.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Author Book

From award-winning author J. Kent Messum, ‘HUSK’ is a serial killer thriller for fans of The Straw Men and The Shining Girls.

Husk Book CoverIt’s the all too near future, and eternal life is a commodity only available to the ultra-rich. Billionaires pay top dollar to exist forever in a virtual world once their bodies have failed them. But this first foray into immortality is not all it’s cracked up to be. The computerized afterlife leaves the immortal hollow and unfulfilled. Anyone who cheats death only wants to live again naturally, itching to interact with the real world.

Young and handsome Rhodes is a Husk whoring himself out to the wealthy who pay to inhabit his body, using his brain while his consciousness sleeps. During these sessions clients take hard drugs, have promiscuous sex, and participate in extreme dare-devil behaviors, all to feel the rush and pleasures of being alive. Husking is a highly illegal and well guarded secret, relegated to the black market. The penalties are severe, but the money and perks are lucrative.

After repeatedly Husking for one particularly demanding client, Rhodes begins to suffer the mental toll for losing himself in his work. When the strange schizophrenic visions and panic attacks start, he tries to get out of his cast-iron contract, but his employers won’t relinquish their asset.
Disturbing questions arise, leading to discomforting clues about his whereabouts while on the job. Finding himself pursued by the police and shadowy operatives, Rhodes begins to search for answers. It isn’t long before he learns the true cost of Husking…

J. Kent Messum is a British-Canadian writer living in Toronto. Husk is his second novel, the follow-up to the award-winning Bait.

BOOK REVIEWS

VIEW THIS BOOK ON:

CONNECT WITH THIS AUTHOR ON

Review this book: