Author Image

Welcome to the OFFICIAL 'About The Author' page of:

C. M. Mitchell

Girl Rocks Universe Saga

C. M. Mitchell, an aspiring writer, has many other loves which make her feel like a comedic walking contradiction. With a love for stories about fairy tales, magic/witches and wizards, to supernatural stories and movies, from vampire series to stories about space crime fighters, she hopes to make everyone who reads her story to in some way, feel at home.

AUTHOR: C. M. Mitchell

Author Book

Girl Runs Galaxy, a Modern tale of Pride and Prejudice

Girl Runs Galaxy, a Modern tale of Pride and Prejudice
Average Book Review Rating: No ratings yet.


I usually live by a saying, ‘To write or not to write, that is the question’. Actually that is not the case, it usually is ‘To eat, or not to eat’.

I am a writer, storyteller, and a Jane Austen Enthusiast. The reason that I began the ‘Girl Rocks Universe’ Saga is because I wanted to help Young Adult females gather an appreciation for Jane Austen. I’ve realized that while many teenagers are exposed to her novels at a young age, they don’t enjoy it or see how her writing connects back to them. Therefore, I began this saga in hopes of showing teenagers how Jane Austen’s novel ‘Pride and Prejudice’ can relate to their lives.

Interestingly enough, the saga grew even larger than I expected. While any who wants to read each book can do so, I wrote each book as a modern take on a characters perspective. The first book ‘Girl Rocks Universe’ follows Issy Bennet (a modern take on Elizabeth Bennet). The second book centers around Katie Bennet, who is Kitty Bennet, the third focuses on Melinda who is Mary Bennet, etc. Each book, while figuring into the saga as a whole, can all be read individually without reading the ones before or after the books in the saga. Also, the age range changes from book to book.

Also, the books in the series eventually began to focus not only on modern takes of Pride and Prejudice characters, but also their descendants and ancestors.  Volume 10, ‘Girl Runs Oblivion’, is set in the 24th century, and follows Sonia Darcy, the great etc. granddaughter of Mr. Darcy, for those readers who love a good science fiction story with a little bit of romance.  Then volume 12, ‘Girl Changes Fate’, follows Mr. Darcy’s ancestor in ancient times, Merrwin, for those readers who love fantasy, and would enjoy a female oriented epic that’s in the style of Lord of the Rings.

Then the ‘Girl Finds Eternity’ Series is a Regency Romance of a Pride and Prejudice Variation for any lovers of the original classic, where you get to have a longer journey where the characters you all love also meet other characters from Jane Austen’s other novels.

Lastly, I also wrote a Christmas novel that is a prequel to Dicken’s novel, ‘A Christmas Carol’ because I very much love Dickens classic so much and I always thought that there was more to write on it. As a result, I feel as if there is something for everyone, from teen fiction, to adult fiction and Christmas novella. Therefore, stop, take a look and I hope you find something that you can enjoy.


Author Book

It's a fact, generally thought but never spoken, that a tale like mine... should never be told.  

Lauren Bennet (Lydia Bennet) was the youngest  of five daughters and was the one who was thought to be destined for great  things... only she wasn't. Wild, reckless, and careless, Lauren Bennet has lost her job, has been kicked out of school and has nowhere to turn.  In an act of  desperation, and to simply escape her failure of a past, she decides to join a mission unit of young adults who sign up to clean up and paint houses in destitute areas in America.


Upon going, she immediately gets into trouble, but there, she finds something, and two men who refuse 

 to allow her to fall through the cracks.  On one hand she meets Dorian Darcy, Mr. Darcy's enigmatic cousin who provokes her at every turn, and then she meets a man named Whistler, a stern old man who pushes Lauren into realizing her frivolous nature.  He then shows her the journals of two heroines from two different time periods that he was researching in America during the early nineteenth century:  Briseis, a young colored woman in Philadelphia during the American Revolution and Harriet, an English woman who travels to America with her family before the battle of 1812.  Through reading the history and inner feelings of both those women, Lauren Bennet begins to see her own life differently.  Will Whistler help her patch up her soul and discover who the real Lauren Bennet is?  And will Dorian Darcy teach her self-discovery, and help her to the path of true love in the end? Or will Lauren Bennet fall along a downward  spiral that she has created for herself?  Will Lauren Bennet be able to escape being... Lauren Bennet?  Fall in love with Jane Austen's charactes again, but in our modern world and with a whole new tale behind their histories.




Review this book: