Author Image

Welcome to the OFFICIAL 'About The Author' page of:

C. M. Mitchell

C. M. Mitchell, an aspiring writer, received a BA Degree at Desales University. With a long standing love for Jane Austen, I also have many other loves which make me feel like a comedic walking contradiction. With a love for stories about magic/witches and wizards, fairy tales, to supernatural stories and movies, from vampire series to stories about space crime fighters, I hope to make everyone who reads my stories to in some way feel at home.

Girl Rocks Universe Saga

AUTHOR: C. M. Mitchell

Author Book

Girl Races Time, a Modern Tale of Pride and Prejudice

Girl Races Time, a Modern Tale of Pride and Prejudice
Average Book Review Rating: No ratings yet.


I usually live by a saying, ‘To write or not to write, that is the question’. Actually that is not the case, it usually is ‘To eat, or not to eat’.

I am a writer, storyteller, and a Jane Austen Enthusiast. The reason that I began the ‘Girl Rocks Universe’ Saga is because I wanted to help Young Adult females gather an appreciation for Jane Austen. I’ve realized that while many teenagers are exposed to her novels at a young age, they don’t enjoy it or see how her writing connects back to them. Therefore, I began this saga in hopes of showing teenagers how Jane Austen’s novel ‘Pride and Prejudice’ can relate to their lives.

Interestingly enough, the saga grew even larger than I expected. While any who wants to read each book can do so, I wrote each book as a modern take on a characters perspective. The first book ‘Girl Rocks Universe’ follows Issy Bennet (a modern take on Elizabeth Bennet). The second book centers around Katie Bennet, who is Kitty Bennet, the third focuses on Melinda who is Mary Bennet, etc. Each book, while figuring into the saga as a whole, can all be read individually without reading the ones before or after the books in the saga. Also, the age range changes from book to book.

Also, the books in the series eventually began to focus not only on modern takes of Pride and Prejudice characters, but also their descendants and ancestors.  Volume 10, ‘Girl Runs Oblivion’, is set in the 24th century, and follows Sonia Darcy, the great etc. granddaughter of Mr. Darcy, for those readers who love a good science fiction story with a little bit of romance.  Then volume 12, ‘Girl Changes Fate’, follows Mr. Darcy’s ancestor in ancient times, Merrwin, for those readers who love fantasy, and would enjoy a female oriented epic that’s in the style of Lord of the Rings.

Then the ‘Girl Finds Eternity’ Series is a Regency Romance of a Pride and Prejudice Variation for any lovers of the original classic, where you get to have a longer journey where the characters you all love also meet other characters from Jane Austen’s other novels.

Lastly, I also wrote a Christmas novel that is a prequel to Dicken’s novel, ‘A Christmas Carol’ because I very much love Dickens classic so much and I always thought that there was more to write on it. As a result, I feel as if there is something for everyone, from teen fiction, to adult fiction and Christmas novella. Therefore, stop, take a look and I hope you find something that you can enjoy.



Author Book

"What say you, Mary? For you are a young lady of deep reflection, I know, and read great books, and make extracts," Mr. Bennet asked. Mary wished to say something very sensible, but knew not how. "While Mary is adjusting her ideas," he continued, "let us return to Mr. Bingley." -Pride and Prejudice.

The tale of Mary Bennet is finally told! It's a truth, generally believed, that a girl who is described as being intelligent must be doing something to make herself continually look it. In modern day, Melinda Bennet was never considered the exceptional one out of her sisters. She was plain, had no exceptional talent, and was hailed as awkward. Yet to make matters worse, while her sisters had all begun to experience good fortune, Melinda's life has fallen into a downward spiral. On the brink of graduating from college for Journalism, she has failed to get any internship that she has applied for, no news station will touch her, and she feels as if her future looks bleak. One day, her friend and roommate Abbey won two tickets to Barton Park, a regency fairy tale land where people are allowed to dress and live as if they are back in the times of 19th century. At first Melinda is reluctant to join her, but eventually accepts and joins Abbey in this journey, in hopes of being able to start her life anew. Upon going, she is hurled back in time to a classical world where she experiences friendship, apathy, cruelty, and companionship. Also, much to her surprise, she experiences falling in love for the first time. Yet what she comes upon is more shocking. While at Barton, she begins to uncover a secret about the houses's past that is most shocking and a connection that has to do with the Darcys! And yet she comes upon something even more shocking, and is amazed to discover how history has repeated itself! She then begins to find her path, answers to her present, a will to find her future, and unknowingly, she helps the 'Mary Bennet' of Longbourn who lived was alive two hundred years before her time!




Review this book: